Looking for the Brand New YOU ?

Lenten Journey as an Opportunity for  Renewal !

IMG_4237

I feel for both  religious and  non-religious folks  Lent is a perfect opportunity to detoxify, shed the excess and think about  the life. The main purpose of  the Lenten Journey  according to the church  is  Giving, Prayer and Fasting but you don’t need to be an avid church member to benefit from this tradition.IMG_4249

According to the traditions of Apostolic Orthodox church that I grew up with , during Lent you go Vegan as well as cut down on Wine and Olive Oil consumption. Which means eating a lot of greens , vegetables, nuts, legumes, as  Swedish say “eat less chew more”  during this time to get  the most nutrients out of small amount of food.

Going vegan does not mean panicking and eating more! It does not also mean depriving  yourself of proteins. Consuming beans, tofu and/or lentils work perfectly . Also it is probably not a good idea for crazy work out sessions.

I found out that yoga works the best for me at this time, and not the super intense one, more of the meditative strength building sessions are much easier to tolerate, be gentle towards your body, don’t strain it. Although it is not in the “rules” of the Church but trying  to cut down “white “ products as well, like starches, sugar and salt are much, much better for body and no risk of gaining 20 ponds on carbs and sugar instead of loosing it.

IMG_4242copy

The purpose of these dietary restrictions is to reminds us of what is essential in our lives.  During Lent we strip away all the excesses, we purge our system of the toxins and we find what we need to live. (Fr. Vazken Movsesian)

Second Part is Praying.  It can also  be Meditating, asking for Guidance from the Higher Power, just reading about Philosophy of life or plain Journaling and reflecting on life , whatever  works. Basic concept is the same , less in more out.  Putting less useless information in, while reflecting and gaining more insight. If you’re ambitious,  you can also cut down on TV, shopping, overall excess consumption of staff. This is the time to practice self-control , restrictions, pure living and minimalism. Since it is not for rest of your life, but only for 50 days, it is kind of a cool challenge .

IMG_4247

The third is about giving. Giving does not have to be about making a monetary contribution to your favorite charity,( which is always good of course ) but rather about giving kindness, love, consideration ,forgiveness  and patience to the people that you encounter in your daily life. Even not cutting someone on the freeway might be an act of giving. Not snapping back at a rude person, but rather letting them be, with the thought that they might be having a really bad day. Giving is all about small acts of kindness.

I did follow lent for few times and every time you feel , physically lighter( literally !)  , start to get into a habit of eating less and being satisfied with less. Afterwards food does taste better!… you start sensing more flavors, after restricted diet. You feel a bit kinder. Feel less inclined to judge people and be more excepting. Going shopping feels fantastic since now you are more mindful about staff you buy and more appreciative .

And feels just  awesome to  know that you were able to go trough the challenge and make it!

Again I don’t think you have to be super religious to benefit from the Lenten Journey, It is a great challenge to try!

25 thoughts on “Looking for the Brand New YOU ?

  1. Excellent post, wonderful explanation, and great advice. It’s so refreshing that you go over the points, but explain that anyone can benefit from the exercise of dietary restrictions, prayer/meditation and giving during the Lenten season.

    The photos are fabulous.

  2. I love the skull tank! It reminds of the Day of the Dead. And I totally agree with you about Lent- I’m not religious myself, but it feels like a period of renewal and transition.

  3. I love this post, I have gone Vegan without actually planning to and I find it harder than anything. I don’t eat fish so and cutting out all meats – has turned me into one automatically. And I am starting Yoga soon – EXCITEMENT!!

    i NEED to get into the habit of “get into a habit of eating less and being satisfied with less” — Seriously, I start tomorrow!
    x

    1. It is kind of tough , because cooks like to “cream” everything they see! ..but some ethnic restaurants offer a great variety of dishes that are Vegan friendly, such as Chinese , Thai, Indian…wish you good luck! If you need I am here for support 🙂

  4. Very interesting and informative post, I just posted about lent as well…although I’m not Catholic so I don’t know nearly as much about it. I’m trying to follow through on it this year though! Beautiful photos!! (:

  5. I was drawn to the photos, but I stayed for your writing. Nice discussion about Lent. I happen to be Catholic, and we aren’t particularly vegan during this season except for abstinence from meat on Fridays. But you got the other good points down. Nice to hear someone else being serious about meditation and charity.

  6. Very inspiring! I’m getting increasingly tempted to challenge myself with something like this.. Maybe not follow all guidelines of a certain “diet”, but mix and match what fits me the most. When I pull myself together and start, I’m sure I will keep much of this in mind.

  7. I’ve been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this kind of space .
    Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled
    upon this website. Reading this information So i am satisfied to exhibit that I’ve
    an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I came upon just what I
    needed. I so much no doubt will make certain to
    don?t forget this website and give it a look on a continuing basis.

Leave a Reply

