Street vs. High Fashion

New York Fashion Week  just ended , next is the  line up of the European fashion shows in London, Milan and Paris.  During the Fashion weeks designers will present their latest offerings for the high fashion, while bloggers would capture the street fashions  happening outside the venues .

There is always a separating line between runway fashion and Street Fashion, although some designers are trying to blur it. Professionally I have to always be updated on the newest runway looks, but street fashion has always fascinated and intrigued me. The origins of  the Street Fashion culture come from the Classic American Sportswear, which is always casual , youthful and practical.

Here I am playing around with Collegiate American Sportswear style , which to me can perfectly qualify as a Street Fashion.

af3

So what is your ”cup of tea”?… Street or the Runway fashion?

8 thoughts on “Street vs. High Fashion

  1. hey.
    can I ask you a question? where did you find those big follower buttons? I looked everywhere but I can’t find them, those I got aren’t beautiful and don’t fit into my blog 😉

    greets
    Lia

  2. I agree with Asuma. Street fashion is great because its practical. But runway fashion is a fantasy. It’s like looking into another world. Everything about it is just eye dropping. There is a rush of adrenaline that comes in too, hahaha.
    -Audfashion

  3. Watching a runway show is special, the anticipation beforehand is like waiting for a suprise gift to be unwrapped, butterflies over what lies before us. Street fashion is real. I love streetfashion. Its usually really cool, bold people mishmashing different brands and styles to create something unique compared to the ‘perfect’ styling of the runway. Its hard to choose a favorite but I would have to say Street. xoxo

  4. I love that you’ve brought up this important distinction. I think that runway fashion definitely needs to be translated in a different way before making its way to the street (unless of course you’re a movie star strolling the red carpet). I can’t decide which is more important to me, because I feel that a marriage between both is so vital to understanding fashion as a whole. I find it necessary to mind the latest trends and then translate them into wearable street styles. Great post. I love your blog, you and your designs are beautiful!

    xoxo

    Madeline

Leave a Reply

