In Audrey Hepburn style

The whole Oscar frenzy reminded me how important it is to always have an inspiration for everything you do. Yesterday I posted about exactly that and Benjamin mentioned that my coat reminded him of Audrey Hepburn style. What a great eye for fashion, Benjamin!

His comment jogged my memory and I recalled that I did have some sketches from  a while ago that were actually inspired by Miss Hepburn and her wardrobe in “Breakfast at Tiffany’s ” as well as the outfits she wore in “How to Steal a Million.”ladies who lunch

I absolutely love 60’s style and am curious to know if any of you find it enticing as well….

What is your favorite Style Decade ?

21 thoughts on “In Audrey Hepburn style

  1. Women’s fashion 1920’s and or 50’s/60’s Hollywood. Men’s would have to be 40’s to early 50’s bad things started to happen to men’s suites in the late 50’s and 60’s although men’s casual was great in 50’s-60’s yeah kind of a clothes horse.

      1. I’ve never really watched the show but yes they do dress well. I used to wear vintage suites and when I had my suites made I had them tailored in that fashion. Personally I miss gaberdine slacks and dbl mercerized cotton shirts, hand seen dbl contrast stitched clothing lol.

  2. I love those old styles. The movie “Hors de prix” (Priceless, English title) with Audrey Tautou and Gad Elmaleh is basically a modern French version of “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” — it’s an enjoyable movie.

  3. I actually took a History of Art class here at UC, and I ABSOLUTELY loved it. It’s so hard for me to say what my favorite decade was because they are all inspired off of eachother… Trend cycles go around and around! What people don’t realize is that they are all based off of what’s happening at the time… Coco Chanel pretty much invented pants for women… because women were working during the depression! I just LOVE that stuff… and LOVE these sketches! I was just about to do a similar one on marilyn… Love both of these fashion guru idols!

  4. The 50s had some great feminine flair too. I probably like the 60s and 50s the most. 🙂

    PS Your sketches are great!

Leave a Reply

