Hate-Mail Virgin…

Since I normally get the kindest and most generous comments, this came as an absolute shock! …My first hate-mail…hopefully the last…

Evelina Galli

this is it:

“Since I am still on my Lenten Journey I am trying to strip everything I ingest down to the absolute bare minimum”

You are so full of ####. You have absolutely no idea of that tradition. Well, maybe the Americanized Armenian Orthodox Church can say such stupidities like “eat less for 50 days and you’re purified” things, but it ain’t so. You’re so egoist person that you can’t see what you’re doing… going to Vegas on a Lente journey, doing this advertizing blogging, saying “Look, I’m on a Holy Trip! I’m ####ing Good!” etc.

You are just using something old and Holy for your own purposes… starbucks green tea, meditating, traveling, acting like a narcissistic ####… oh sweet Jesus ####ing Christ, was this just why you (Jesus) came down to say to Jews that they are lost?

Wow!…

“To avoid criticism, do nothing, say nothing, and be nothing.” – Elbert Hubbard (source:uberzombie)

This made me sad at first. I felt that the person who wrote it must have been in a lot of trouble or turbulence in his or her life…

After thinking about this for a bit,  I arrived at just one question: why do some people hate what is different?

My take on this is simple. Don’t we all live on Earth under one roof, so to speak? Don’t we all have blood in our veins? Rephrasing the Shakespeare … Don’t we all have lungs to breathe and hearts to love?

… Love! …That ‘s the essential ingredient that is missing from this letter! I am positive that adding love to our daily life will reduce the unhappiness, the stress and the inner turmoil! I don’t mean Love as “loving a specific person.” I mean letting love in your heart, letting love turn the ignorance into inquisitive wonder. I’m referring to the type of love that makes a hard heart soft and the sun shine on a cloudy day.

It can be as simple as looking lovingly at a beautiful object, a sunrise, a flower …anything that makes you enjoy that second! Because when you experience the emotion of love, that true feeling of loving life just as it is in this exact moment, there is no room or time left for hate.

Evelina GalliSo rather than judge and criticize, let’s embrace our differences. Let’s find love in those things that make us unique, that shape our individual perspectives. Let’s find love in the little pleasures and let’s all start experiencing joy in every aspect of our life. Even in the face of hatred.

Evelina Galli

What do you think?

49 thoughts on “Hate-Mail Virgin…

  1. I would agree with you on this as far as the can’t we all just get along aspect of your statement. Obviously this person has some strong feelings, yet by examining the language they chose to use in their communication I would say they are pretty far from orthodox them selves. As always I enjoy your words and images of fashion.
    Happy Sunday.
    Benjamin

  2. Expressing a different view is normal, and a good thing…the way he or she did it is quite wrong, but I guess the only thing to do is to keep doing what you do and say, and try to forget about this person. Keep giving us your beautiful thoughts and fashion statements…:)

  3. Dislike! Ironic that this person is being all judgemental and exhibiting such awful behavior. It’s like the pot calling the kettle black.

  4. I agree with you and Ben. Your statement in response to such a tongue-lashing was uplifting and inspiring. You used the hate mail to share a message of love, compassion, and understanding of others. Perhaps, that was the divine purpose.

  5. Wow, what a shock it must have been to receive such a hateful message from someone who doesn’t even know you! I enjoyed your message about Lent, and maybe it isn’t an orthodox way to approach the season but that’s your prerogative. Keep up the great posting.

  6. Evelina , all of us has a freedom of speak in our culture. This counts for good post and bad post; The only thing what is very important is to respect this freedom in others. If you were not offending ( and you are not to me) you have nothing to be concerned for . This person felt apparently hurt in his or her thoughts. The best way is to respect his or her opinion and ask for an explanation in such a way you both can understand . I also do not always agree completely in one of your post ( see previous post) . But I respected your opinion and more I remained polite . I believe in such way we can learn and expand our thoughts and life. Maybe it is not so good idea to turn the message as ‘hate mail’ . If I may give my comment , it might be a good idea to react on these messages which are not ‘like’ ,’wonderful ‘ and ‘lovely’. The not ‘wonderful’ ones are to me the most valid. The ‘wonderful’ and ‘like’ comments are simply a confirmation of you thoughts. I hope this helps, let me know 🙂

  7. There are people who believe that having nice “things” and a “relationship” with God are incompatible, and this person sees you as a hypocrite. You may be way off base on Orthodox theology, but what does it matter? Your thoughtful, positive and uplifting posts together with your stunning beauty shared in classy photos help to make our world a little more like Heaven.

  8. Doesn’t actually sound “personal” about you….sounds like the person has some serious problems and is just “sounding off” at an “easy target”…some jealousy in the rant as well… I wouldn’t take it too personally….”Let it Go”

  9. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, but to express this in such a hateful way is completely wrong. I have yet to get my own set of hate mail, but a fellow blogger that I adore (Suzy) recently got one too. It was random and off the wall, and hypocritical.

    For someone to do this, is more of a reflection upon themselves than it is on you. Continue to be you baby doll, and let the others simmer in their own hate. It will be to their own misfortune. ♥

  10. Hey dear…..ignore such people…your are doing, you are going great.
    Why can’t people stick to their own business….” charity begins at home “…everyone should understand that. Instead of giving lectures to the whole world they should try to manage their own life and family.

  11. Sorry about this experience. It doesn’t surprise me that the hate male came after a religious/faith post and probably from a person that has been challenged or hurt by faith communities, but I hope that this doesn’t discourage you. Keep posting.

  12. Wow…so sorry you received such a terrible comment. I wish people would use the “if you have nothing nice to say…then say nothing at all” rule. It’s a shame that sentient adults behave so irrationally and crassly.

  13. It reminds me this 😉

    Matthew 5

    Eye for Eye

    38 “You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth.’ 39 But I tell you, do not resist an evil person. If anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to them the other cheek also. 40 And if anyone wants to sue you and take your shirt, hand over your coat as well. 41 If anyone forces you to go one mile, go with them two miles. 42 Give to the one who asks you, and do not turn away from the one who wants to borrow from you.

    Love for Enemies

    43 “You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ 44 But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, 45 that you may be children of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. 46 If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that? 47 And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that? 48 Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.

  14. The more I blog and perhaps the older I get, the more I recall the phrase “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.” If that person dislikes your blog so much there is an easy solution…don’t read it! To send a message like they did only shows how narrow-minded and uneducated they are. Another phrase they should have thought of…”say nothing and the world may think you a fool, say something and they will know it.”
    Cheers to you for your grace.
    Laura

  15. Yes.. I love hate mail which is probably why I like skating so close to the edge. Stimulated by death, loving expression which tends to be most inspired in both the attacks and the defense. What is said is seldom what is meant, yet it always exposes what is felt which is sometimes quite another thing. Also, image 2 is freakin’ magnificent! Words can never cut it… not really…

  16. Someone who hates you normally hates you for one of three reasons…
    They either see you as a threat.
    They hate themselves.
    Or they want to be you.
    Its amusing how “people” get brave enough to say crap when they can hide theyr identities…
    The reason they hide is simply cos they know they are wrong on every count…
    LIFE is SHORT, dont waist time on this SHMUCK…

  17. Congratulations on your very measured and calm response. It’s easy to get angry and be hurt by such comments. It is a sad fact of life that many are too quick to judge. Your spiritual journey is yours and yours alone. I too am respecting Lent in a way I feel appropriate and don’t ask or need anyone else’s approval. I shall leave that between God and me.

    On a less serious note. I love your blog. I have no idea about fashion but enjoyed reading your blog because it is a window on a world so different to my own experience and that’s interesting and informative. Good luck with it and thank you for dropping by and following my blog. Much appreciated.

  18. Hey thanks for the follow! So on my man blog vanitydiaries12 I get all sorts of hate mail usually from these annoying people that just don’t see your view its okay for disagreement as long as its respectful and some people just aren’t getting that. Push through!! Great blog by the way.

  19. I am sorry that you got such awful hate mail. I think I would have cried. It’s good to see how positive you took the hate and learned something from it. Stay positive!!!

  20. First of all how great is their lent going if they are acting very un-Jesus of Nazareth like?! Maybe they should give up snarking and judging for lent and pocket their stones until their Easter? You have a lovely blog and it’s always odd when you receive your first hate mail it’s easy to be thrown by it. I say blog the way you want to, most of your readers are cool and the odd hater is going to unhappy whether we bide their “advice” or grievance or not.

  21. Wow, what a ridiculous comment. People seriously have nothing better to do than harass others. Kudos to you for posting it, just makes the comment look even more ridiculous and judging by all the comments you got a ton of support!

  22. Crazy!! But the way you handled it was awesome. I am glad you shared it & your view on it tho… What a great way to take something negative & put it in a positive light… Life really is all about perspective. 🙂

  23. Wow…why are some people so bitter? Bravo to you, Evelina, for moving past the hurtful comment. I agree with Caroline’s comment. This person clearly looks like he or she needs some serious anger management. Keep on blogging! Thanks so much, by the way, for following Travel Oops! Cheers, Steph.

  24. Thanks for sharing this experience. I recently had a similar experience which I blogged about, so I can very much relate. I appreciate your honest and beautiful post and hope you don’t have to deal with hate mail anymore. Thank you and much love xx Helen

  25. I’m so amazed by these guys (I believe it is guys mostly) and the anger they feel they have to share with the world. They must have been really hurt at some point in ther life (not that that makes it any easier at moment you realize you are the target of the hate).
    Anyway, like your blog!

  26. Can you imagine spending so much time on hating a stranger? Ugh… You did a brave thing reposting the letter… And I agree with everyone who commented on jealousy being the motivator. Keep up the positive sharing!

  27. I think that you have a brilliant response to the anger that was directed towards you. It was a very mature reply when the original comment was so hurtful. It shows that you have an internal spark that just won’t be put out. I say keep that brilliant, loving spark alive and let it flourish. It is not something that is so easy to do with so much hate in the world. You seem to have a decent hold on it though.

  28. “Let’s find love in those things that make us unique, that shape our individual perspectives. Let’s find love in the little pleasures and let’s all start experiencing joy in every aspect of our life. Even in the face of hatred.”

    i love theses lines who forgot to live thier life they’ll read these line and start to live there life again………

  29. “To avoid criticism, do nothing, say nothing, and be nothing.” Great quote and great response to that email. I should follow your example : )

  30. Religion is an experience unique to the individual. If you choose to follow a doctrine to the letter of how someone says you should experience it then that’s your choice. If you want to associate yourself with your church in a way that makes you feel closer to it, whether or not it’s against the ‘doctrine,’ enjoy it.
    No one’s capable of making it through your life ensuring that you’re happy and get the most out of it, but you, not matter how that looks.
    Hate can only be stopped with the person it’s directed at. Good for you for not moving it forward.

  31. Ah, I know what you mean. I got some pretty nasty comments on my “about me” page too, but we can’t please everyone, so just gotta learn not to take it too seriously 🙂

  32. Once you start to get hate mail, you know people other than just your friends are reading your blogs! You will learn to get over it!

  33. Sorry people can be so mean. 😦 Search for the truth (if there is any) and deal with it, discard the rest. Hey – even Jesus would have received hate mail – had He blogged when He was here 😉
    Come to think of it, He STILL gets hate mail! lol
    Thanks for stopping by, btw.

Leave a Reply

