Wine Dilemma

Occasionally I do enjoy a glass of red wine…. Cabernet, to be more specific. But it is hard to navigate in the world of wine: with sulfites, no sulfites, organic, not so organic, old, young…the overwhelming display of cool labels and bottles …what to choose?

Evelina Galli
My recent find is Groth, an amazing California Wine (2009). It is delicious in every variety. It has a unique flavor, but is reminiscent of something familiar. I love the look, the aroma and the way it leaves an impression on my senses.

In many ways, wine is like fashion. Certain wines fit certain moods. Color and texture is important. And everyone has a favorite!

Evelina Galli

A good red wine is always a crowd-pleaser… especially dressed up in fine crystal!

Evelina Galli

 

What is your favorite vino?

16 thoughts on “Wine Dilemma

  1. If I have money to spend, I’ll drink Silver Oak. California cab, never disappoints. Luckily I’ve recently discovered some (less expensive) local wines that I love. I was almost convinced that Texas could not produce wines I like but I finally found some!

  2. Since you posed the question… how much time do you have?… 😉 Like you, I am a drinker (and an occasional “maker” as well) of the reds. In addition to the characteristics you’ve already mentioned, there is also a distinction between New World wines and Old World wines. Most of the time I prefer New World wines a little better, as they tend to be a little less harsh, and more “drinkable” sooner. I like a good Cabernet, provided that it’s served its time in the bottle (at least 5 years, hopefully more). They tend to mellow and develop character with age. I enjoy most of the other red varietals as well, but some of my favorites include a fruity Australian Shiraz, a nice peppery Zinfandel (Napa or Amador County), an earthy Malbec (Mendoza region, Argentina), or even a bold Barbera. For a real treat, a 10+ year old Italian Amarone is delightful. Region plays a part too sometimes. When shopping, most of the time I try to stick with the Napa Valley for most reds, as the growing conditions there seem to be more ideal. Sulfites vs. no sulfites is a bit moot, unless you’re allergic to them. They just help to preserve the wine a little longer. As for brand/label and dollars spent… I’ve had $7 bottles of wine that I really enjoyed, and $50 bottles that I could have done without. It’s all about what’s pleasing to your individual palate. Skål!

    1. I forgot to mention… I’ll have to be on the lookout for this Groth you speak of… so I can see where your tastes lie.

      1. Thank you, this is very informative!…I will Definately try them..not all at once!…lol…Groth was recommended by my friend Robert , who is very knowledgable in wines, ..I’ve tryed his recommendation and very happy about it…I like getting recommendations from people who know what they are talking about…saves time and money in trial and error ..:)

      2. Thank you, this is very informative!…I will Definately try them..not all at once!…lol…Groth was recommended by my friend Robert , who is very knowledgable in wines, ..I’ve tryed his recommendation and very happy about it…I like getting recommendations from people who know what they are talking about…saves time and money in trial and error ..:)

Leave a Reply

