Total Package or The Benefits of Venturing Out

-Why there are no Restaurants on the Moon?

-Because there is no Atmosphere!

Evelina Galli

I mentioned before about my addictive personality. It definitely applies not only to fashion, but to other things as well, such as Restaurants.

My decision-making strategy about where to eat is simple: depending on which neighborhood of LA I am in, I have my ultimate place to go to and I don’t venture out.

I feel “exploring” new restaurants can be hit or miss and since I don’t have much time, I don’t want to end up at a “miss.”

Well at least that was my thought process until recently…

Evelina Galli

I was at the “Prive” salon in West LA, where amazing hair sculptor Brian Borg was trimming my hair (he actually calls it “dusting off” not trimming… sounds so much better !)

…My later plans included having dinner at “The Little Door” an intimate French-Lebanese place that I became “hooked on” because of my friend. The food is consistently great and there are no unwanted surprises…Well that was my plan, until Brian asked ”You know that the best Italian restaurant in LA is right next door?”

“Seriously Brian?”…“The Best? Right here?”… after realizing that I had already accidentally parked my car at the “Angelini” valet, combined with the degree of starvation I was experiencing , the decision was made in nanoseconds!

Evelina GalliJust like that I diverted my dinner plans from “The Little Door” to the next door and landed at Angelini Osteria.

I have never been to Italy before, but stepping into Angelini was as good as buying a ticket and flying to Italy!

The staff spoke in Italian, the customers were charming, and the colors of the interior were warm and welcoming!

House made black ink pasta with lobster and cherry tomatoes was unbelievable and to compensate me for not having any company, they offered a glass of champagne on the house. The high note was when Venetian tiramisu arrived with a small cup of espresso. The dinner was fantastic from the very first bite of the Ciabatta bread and the Extra Virgin Olive oil delivered from Italy specifically for them.

Only after the dinner I noticed the Zagat rating award/trophy, where it spelled out that Angelini was the best. But the truth is, you did not have to see any Award/trophies to know this was the best. It was not the food or the staff that made this place so special and not the customers or the decor…it was all of the above creating an ATMOSPHERE, a sum that was greater than its parts!

Have you ever discovered a “true” hidden treasure in your neighborhood by chance?

5 thoughts on “Total Package or The Benefits of Venturing Out

  1. Im of the same mind when it comes to restaurants. The :misses” can be huge and the gems so rare. Plus with a background in fine food and wine Im very picky about food out. Id rather cook it myself. 🙂
    Happy Sunday.

  2. Your sunglasses and jewelry really compliment you. I think I’ll get some of mine out. As far as restaurants I mostly go to a smogasboard and Macdonalds. It may do me some good to venture out.

Leave a Reply

