Thunder Perfect Mind….

Poems are not highly popular these days unless they take the form of lyrics and appear as a song. But there are classics that certainly will withstand the changing times, like the “The Thunder Perfect Mind.”

Evelina Galli…Why am I certain?

Because it already did.

I stumbled upon it in one of my favorite perfume ads (my guilty pleasure).

It is a perfume ad for Prada and I keep watching it over and over, it was just so hypnotizing…. and of course, watching Daria Werbowy in Prada clothes can have a similar effect 🙂

But this was special… the words were puzzling and alluring and seductive and weird.

So I wanted to find out what it was.

The poem was apparently discovered only recently in 1945, but some scholars date it back to 350 C.E. It comes from Alexandria (Ancient Egypt) and talks about a feminine divine nature. It is believed to be about the expression of the goddess Isis .

It is very long, so I will give you just a taste of it.

I was sent forth from the power,

and I have come to those who reflect upon me,

and I have been found among those who seek after me.

Look upon me,  who reflect upon me,

and you hearers, hear me.

You who are waiting for me, take me to yourselves.

And do not banish me from your sight.

For I am knowledge and ignorance.

I am shame and boldness.

I am shameless; I am ashamed.

I am strength and I am fear.

I am war and peace.

Give heed to me.

I am the one who is disgraced and the great one.

7 thoughts on “Thunder Perfect Mind….

  1. A timeless poem and an interesting short film, even if it is an advert – I generally admire anything associated with Ridley Scott as it is normally good quality.

  2. Good morning Evelina, it is kind of true poetry is not highly popular these days to the general populous. There is however a very large underground movement of poetry online sites. See link this is one of many. From this site you can see links to many more sites. Here is one of my poems that I am Regular at. I do like your selection of Thunder Perfect Mind.
    http://thecamelsaloon.blogspot.com/2013/02/pearls.html
    Have perfect mind day.

Leave a Reply

