What Goes around Comes around

I discovered Gustav Klimt when I was around 11-12 in my brothers’ art history books. It was love at first sight! His fantastic ornaments and wild imagination always stayed in my memory as an eternal question: “Where did his inspiration come from?”

klimt.adele-bloch-bauer

Of course I have read that he was very much inspired by Italian cities of Venice and Ravenna, but what does that actually mean?

I did not figure out the true meaning behind the inspiration until I experienced Venice.

And I do want to emphasize the “experience” part, because regardless of the amount of pictures, artwork and movies you see, experiencing Venice is a must! It divides your life into before you went to Venice and after.

But back to the Gustav Klimt.  His secrets started being revealed in San Mark’s Basilica, which was fully decorated with golden leaf mosaics called Gold Leaf Tesserae a technique which sandwiches a golden leaf between 2 pieces of glass, thus achieving absolute luminosity for the gold, which nothing can compare.

IMG_5333-1

Seeing all that gold solved the mystery behind Klimpt’s golden leaf elaborate backgrounds. I don’t think any artist who witnesses all that artistic glory can stay indifferent and not be moved by it.

Even the recent collection of Dolce and Gabbana is heavily inspired by the golden mosaics at San Mark’s basilica. (Another proof that Venice is experiencing a serious cultural comeback).

Dolce-Gabbana-Fall-Winter-2013-2014-34

Another unique inspiration of Gustav Klimt came from Murano Glass.

IMG_0338

He probably saw the ““millefiori” is a style of Murano Glass that is defined by each layer of molten color being molded into a star, then cooled and layered again. When sliced crosswise, it has the appearance of many flowers, thus mille- (thousand) fiori (flowers).

IMG_0340

Now all of a sudden his unusual ornaments fully made sense! It is a Millefiori!

The most exciting part was that last year the city of Venice honored the master and everywhere in Venice were exhibitions dedicated to Klimt. And as we all know: “what goes around comes around” and Murano Glassmaking masters created a whole new series inspired by Gustav Klimt’s work which marked a true comeback!

murano

24 thoughts on “What Goes around Comes around

  1. A lovely post and i would agree in full, pre and post venice. The same can be said for Paris in my heart. I loved the fashion tie in I think your 100% on point with that.
    Cheers
    Benjamin

  2. The gold leaf between glass is interesting. I remember years ago they had luminescent acrylic paint that shined like metal. I tried a little of the different colors they had available but never quite mastered it. The secret was mica chips mixed with the paint. A stripe painted with it did look like metal. I guess it never caught on. The price of gold is extremely high now, but the bubble doesn’t seem ready to burst yet because paper money at the moment seems very unreliable and depends on governments propping up its value artificially. Much too many complicating factors to determine what the value of anything will be.

    1. My dad was an artist and he would say that Gold his the hardest material to work with for a painter…you put a bit more and the work can look tacky…really hard to maintain that perfect balance…Klimt was the master of it!

  3. Hey I am so excited I found your site, I relaly found you by accident, while I was looking on Google for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a incredible post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

Leave a Reply

